1836 Blog

The 83rd Texas Legislature implemented several new laws on September 1st. Be aware of what might affect you:

SB 510

Drivers will now be required to move over for TXDOT vehicles with flashing lights. That means you either have to get out of the lane that runs alongside the vehicle, or slow down to 20 miles per hour below the posted speed limit. Texas already requires drivers to move over for tow trucks as well as police, fire, and other emergency vehicles.
HB 3668
If you get into a wreck and think the other driver is hurt, you better go find out. personal safety aside, if you don’t stop and render aid, and the person is hurt, you could get up to 10 years in prison.
SB 181
You’ll now be able to show proof of insurance with your cell phone.
HB 347
This bill expands the current limitations on cell phone use in an active school crossing zone to include the property of a public elementary, middle, or junior high school for which a local authority has designated a school crossing zone. The use will only be restricted during the time a reduced speed limit is in effect for the school crossing zone. Further, it will not apply to vehicles that are stopped, or drivers using a hands-free device or making an emergency call.